Les Paul With Bolt On Neck

kitsch

Hello people,

newbie here, my name is Edo, nice to meet you all.

I'm about to order my first custom built guitar: it's going to be a sort of les paul copy, but I was thinking about a bolt on maple neck with ebony fingerboard, just because it's easier to set up/adjust on my own. Do you think is that going to affect the sound in a bad way? The body is going to be in Khoya moghany, and the guitar will have a humbucker on the bridge and a p90 on the neck.

Also, I'd rather have the 6 tuning machines on one side, rather than 3+3. How would that work?

And finally, as far as the scale, I know les pauls are 24 3/4" and strats are 25,5". I'd like to go somewhere in between, to get a midway string tension. Thoughts?

The thing is that I'm a big les paul fan (I have a few great lp's), but I'd like to have a versatile guitar with the look and feel of a les paul, but not necessarily with its fat tone..something between a les paul and a strat with humbuckers. What would you suggest?

Peace

Edo

www.myspace.com/kitschmania

www.kitsch-music.com

haha...yup, sounds like a PRS with a 6-a-side headstock to me.

The thing is that I'm a big les paul fan (I have a few great lp's), but I'd like to have a versatile guitar with the look and feel of a les paul, but not necessarily with its fat tone..something between a les paul and a strat with humbuckers. What would you suggest?

The simplest solution might be for a Les Paul shape, which will give you the look & feel, but with a maple neck & ash/alder/poplar body...add some coil splitting humbuckers & you'll have the shape & feel plus a strats tonal properties...well, almost.

haha...yup, sounds like a PRS with a 6-a-side headstock to me.

The simplest solution might be for a Les Paul shape, which will give you the look & feel, but with a maple neck & ash/alder/poplar body...add some coil splitting humbuckers & you'll have the shape & feel plus a strats tonal properties...well, almost.