Ebay Special Violin

Curtis P

Well, i have been learning to play violin a little bit, probaly bout on and off for a month now, but it is very, very hard to learn the violin without my own, and the guy that has one that is teaching me a little bit does not want me borrowing it and he lives about 20 miles away from me, so it makes it hard to learn.

I have found an Ebay Special, 4/4 full size, with bow and case, no rosin, its pretty old, but the guy gaurentees it to be 100% fine and dandy.

So, a few questions first, since i dont really know alot about violins:

The make and model is: Antonius Stradivarius Cremonenfis Faciebat Anno 17

it also says that the bridge is a bit lower so it is more of a fiddle then a violin, is this a good or bad point on this insturment?

Specs of the insturment:

Spruce top

Maple (slight flame) sides and back and neck

purfling (painted)

Like i said, I am just beginning to learn this insturment, it is alot ALOT harder then guitar, so i do not want to spend a fortune, but i also do not want to have a peice of crap as a first violin/fiddle because it will not only be difficult and frustrating to learn on a peice of crap, it will also not be enjoyable and probaly sound bad.

So, maintanece on a violin/fiddle, same as a guitar? i just keep my guitar clean, in tune, always in a case or stand, depending on what i am doing, and i always have a reputable shop set it up after the winter (not that i cant do it myself, i would just rather have a proffesional do it for the 25 bucks)

I would assume that you would have to do something with the bow, i know you have to rosin it up, but i dont know when, all the time, every so often?

is it advisable to have a violin set in a stand, or just in its case all the time?

Thanks for your time, i would appreciate quick responses as the auction ends in 6 days

Thanks!!!!

Curtis