Leafing As A Guitar Finish?

Hello everyone, I must admit I am pretty new to the idea of refinishing guitars. I have an old Schecter that I sanded down and repainted in a green/black burst (with an air brush), which turned out to be okay but recently I decided to redo it with oil paint (rubbed in like a dye) and that appears to be going well. But anyways, I thought it might be fun to try and redo my Ibanez RG with some kind of leafed, or holoflash finish. I read on this website that it can be done without even stripping the guitar down to the wood, does that mean I can leave the finish as is, and go over what's there?. Are there any tips/words of warning for those attempting this type of finish? I'm open to any other materials as well, as long as it gets a depthy and colored metallic finish.

Thanks in advance, with any luck if this turns out well I hope to keep refinishing guitars in the future.

Hello everyone, I must admit I am pretty new to the idea of refinishing guitars. I have an old Schecter that I sanded down and repainted in a green/black burst (with an air brush), which turned out to be okay but recently I decided to redo it with oil paint (rubbed in like a dye) and that appears to be going well. But anyways, I thought it might be fun to try and redo my Ibanez RG with some kind of leafed, or holoflash finish. I read on this website that it can be done without even stripping the guitar down to the wood, does that mean I can leave the finish as is, and go over what's there?. Are there any tips/words of warning for those attempting this type of finish? I'm open to any other materials as well, as long as it gets a depthy and colored metallic finish.

Thanks in advance, with any luck if this turns out well I hope to keep refinishing guitars in the future.