Wireless Pickup Switch

FatMike

Hi, I have no wiring experience beyond fitting a new humbucker, so excuse my ignorance if what I'm asking is either too much or too easy.

I play a lot of ska / punk rock, in the vein of Less Than Jake / Reel Big Fish / Streetlight Manifesto etc. This kind of playing involves frequent amp channel switches via foot pedal between clean and distortion sounds. That's easy.

Trouble is, I favour the clean sound produced by the neck-position single coil, whereas the distortion is obviously better handled by the bridge-position humbucker. The current pickup switch is a standard strat-style 5 position switch, and using this to switch pickups from bridge to neck whilst still strumming in the fraction of a second required by the music is near impossible by my reckoning (maybe i just need practice with that, but I've never seen it done by anyone else).

Hence, I was wondering if it would be possible to switch between pickups using a foot-pedal, and furthermore, whether a sytem is possible whereby this foot-pedal wirelessly controls the pickup switch.

Again, excuse me if this is either impossible or laughably easy.

Thanks. :D

I guess you could always make a foot switch for it, but it would be slightly complicated, and in the end I doubt you would think it that much faster.

what kind of guitar do you play?

for a strat if it were that much of an issue, you could always move the Volume pot down one, remove one of the tone pots.

in the Volume pot location put a simple 2 way on/off kind of switch(gibson round style to fit the hole)

then it would be changable with a up/down stroke(although alittle closer to the bridge) but would be pretty freaking fast..

PERSONALLY my hands are big enough that i can usualy grab the 5 way with my pinky or at least flick it