Tone Cap Clarification

toro

I recently bought a first act Delia as a back up guitar. I had the pots replaced because the originals didn't have a gradual roll-off, they were either on or off. So we put in some new 500K's. Anyway I had the luthier replace the tone cap while he was at it. He put in a .022 oil filled Brazilian cap. My guitar seems to have lost the glassy twang that it once had and seems darker in tone. The pickups are extremely similar to a Gretsch Nashville or Guild starfire. Will replacing the .022 with a .047 clean up the tone at all?

Edited by toro

i think it would

this diagram is usefull and shows what would happen (thanks to wickerwolf for posting it, in another thread)

this shows that a .020 cap would block more High freqs (what you are experiencing) so a .0047 should let more highs though.

im a novice when it comes to tone though, most of my guitars dont have tone knobs (i removed them) the only one i have a tone control in is my telecaster and i use that for distortion (with the tone all the way (or up) it starts to distort really nicely with a .0047 cap in) i dont really know why it does this, i assume its magic. :D

2op.jpg

Edited by Samba Pa Ti

i think it would

this diagram is usefull and shows what would happen (thanks to wickerwolf for posting it, in another thread)

this shows that a .020 cap would block more High freqs (what you are experiencing) so a .047 should let more highs though.

im a novice when it comes to tone though, most of my guitars dont have tone knobs (i removed them) the only one i have a tone control in is my telecaster and i use that for distortion (with the tone all the way (or up) it starts to distort really nicely with a .047 cap in) i dont really know why it does this, i assume its magic. :D

2op.jpg

The tone control was introduced to avoid old guitar from sounding to shrill. No matter what the diagram says, there's also the potentiometer in your tone control.