Wenge Hollow-body

Hi,

I'm new to this forum; I'm from Belgium and I'm designing what will be my first home-made guitar. I've some experience with wood working and I have access to many tools, so I'm pretty confident :D

The goal:

A light and compact guitar (to travel with), with a correct sound unplugged (just to be able to play it unplugged in a room), and a warm "round" sound plugged (towards the sound of an archtop, I'm a fan of blues and jazz).

The idea for now:

I'm going to get a full-maple telecaster neck, so I'll only work on the body. I have in my stock a nice block of wenge and a planck in ashwood. I was thinking about a hollowed body in wenge, 0.8" thick, and a thin ash top (0.15") with two f-holes. I'll put a single pickup, a humbucker at the neck, but I don't know yet which one. The thin body won't be a problem concerning strength I think, since wenge's quite hard, nor for the electronics, since I'll put mini-potmeters on the side. The neck would be bolted to a metal plate itself bolted to the body, so thickness isn't a problem either for that.

I would now need some advice, especially concerning the choice of woods. I've seen several wenge basses, but never a guitar body ! Do you have any idea how this design could sound ? I've also difficultied to guess how "loud" it could sound unplugged... Does a thin top make a better sound than a thicker one ?

Thanks a lot in advance !

The current plan (note the small thin body):

scrny7.jpg

Loving the shape, and I think it would be an awesome build. Wenge probably isn't your best choice if you're looking for light weight. Don't expect too much in the way of unplugged volume with a thin body and hardwood top. To really get an acoustic sound, you need a light top that can vibrate.

Good luck with it, I'd like to see that guitar come to life.

Cheers,

Brian.