Bridge Wood

Well, I'm no acoustic pro, so this is just what I'm thinking, but I think the choice comes from several factors. The bridge has to be able to take the wear from wound strings and the forces from string tension without getting grooves worn into it too quickly or being torn apart under the forces. Also, the weight of the bridge does color the tone of an instrument to a pretty decent extent. However, I think that if you used acrylicized maple or something similar, you'd have a light colored wood with both the weight and durability of something along the lines of ebony or rosewood. Check out gallery hardwoods; they have a pretty good selection of acrylacized woods and I think they can even accommodate custom orders.

peace,

russ

Edited by thegarehanman

I would think that rosewoods and ebony are used for their stability and strength. It probably doesn't hurt to have some weight to the bridge either. Rosewoods and ebony are pretty stiff...if they were more flexible, this would probably steal some energy from the strings instead of transferring the energy right to the soundboard.

I think there would be some obvious problems with using a softer wood for a part like this...over time & under load, the part would deform due to the string tension & load across the saddle.