Any Tips On Dying End Grain

ihocky2

I am getting ready to start testing some scraps for my tele project for dying. I am a little concerned though about the body wood and the end grain. I have never used dyes before. The body has a 3/8" maple cap and about 1-1/2" ash for the body. I tried using the search feature, but most search phrases would not be allowed because of words being too short. I saw one post saying that ash can be a nightmare to dye. Is this true? Should I try sealing the ash first and then dying with alcohol based dye.

I am mainly looking for some tips now on getting the end grain to match evenly and some tips on dying the ash. I am going to be precticing on scraps first, but would like to have a few good tips first, that way I am not wasting my time practicing bad habits. I have both water based and oil based grain filler so I could use either for the ash. I will be using Trans-Tints dyes so I can do either water or alcohol based dye. I want to dye the wood instead of spraying toner coats because I want to try and really get the grain to highlight on the maple, which I don't think I'll get with the toner coats. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am mainly looking for some tips now on getting the end grain to match evenly

i read in Workbench magazine last spring about staining the end-grain on oak trim. they said that if you sand the end-grain a full grit higher/finer than you sand the other faces, it will end up as smooth as the other faces and will take the stain more evenly.

of course, on a guitar the edges aren't discrete faces but rather a curve. you might give it a shot anyway.

I shoot the dye with my spray gun. Makes it much easier to control the amount of dye that goes on/into the wood.

I am mainly looking for some tips now on getting the end grain to match evenly