New Guy Into Building Necks

i'm new at this, and i'm sure you get these questions frequently, so if you know of links to good discussions on the questions i have, i'd greatly appreciate any time spent looking for them and posting them for me!

ok so here goes:

I own a 5-piece neck from a 60's japanese guitar, and its beautiful!!! (mahogany, maple, mahogany, maple, mahogany) and i'd like to build one nearly exactly like it... so

1. where do you guys usually buy lumber for a project liike this?

2. even though i'd have a template to go by, i'd still like to know the procedure for figuring out the angle on the headstock (is it different for flat mounted bridges and tune-o-matics?)

3. is there a formula to calculate the distance between each fret?

4. how will i know the heighth to build my neck? should it seat at a certain heigth from the body?

Also, does anyone know of a website that has free templates for bodies and necks? the guitarbuildingtemplates.com templates seem a little pricy!

thanks guys for your help!

Hi Jared, welcome to the forum. :D

Building your own guitar (or even part of one like a neck) is a process of big-time self education. While I and I'm sure others appreciate your thirst for knowledge, it is a thirst best satisfied by active effort on your part to educate yourself.

Answers to your questions have been made here countless times, and are to be found by using the Search function at the top of every forum page. Active searching on your own initiative will always bring answers more quickly than posting questions and hanging around waiting for answers.

Better than that are a number of books on building guitars that are a MUST read before you buy and cut any lumber. Melvyn Hiscock's "Building Your Own Electric Guitar" is a great place to start; read it, then re-read it. There are others as well. Having books like that on your shelf provide instant sources of reference that don't require you to even turn on a computer.