Benchtop Tools

riffster

I am making a guitar at a friends of my familys house. I am shadowing him and am learning a lot while I get a hands on experience. I want to get some of my own toys. I am 20 so I can't consider purchasing a delta 14" bandsaw or a really nifty drill press. What are your thoughts on a benchtop drill press? Should I avoid benchtop bandsaws? Could a scroll saw be used instead of a benchtop bandsaw? Since I can't get a planer, could a safety planer be used effectively on a benchtop drill press? I am new to this realm, so any comments would be great!

Thanks!

Boy there are just so many tools that are effective, it is really tuff to pick and choose especially when size matters :D . A larger drill press would allow more effective use, at least if you want to use all sorts of work around gadgets (sanding drums, safety planers, circle cutters, and such). Heavier duty allows for some of the added demands on the chuck, and you can get larger pieces under a larger machine to do the work, also a better table allows for better support of jigs you make and accuracy. Bandsaw, very much the same deal. Larger has more capacity, general stability, clearance for the work piece, heavier table for jigs, overall stability in settings is generally much improved.

Probably the most effective power tool to start with is a router. You can use it along with different jigs you can make for a reasonable price and some elbow grease, to get a LOT of effective accurate use. That would be my first power tool of choice, and I would make sure it is a good one.

I have a scroll saw (too me it is limited and is almost completely replace by my bandsaws). If need be a hand held jig saw (purchased for $5 at a garage sale would be a better place holder (without wasting cash) until you can pick up a decent 14" bandsaw(or bigger).