Saga Ht-10 - Why Not Just Reveneer It?

Quick introduction. I'm a newb and an idiot so bare with me :D

I've been reading up on the Saga kits for awhile now. Had like 90 seperate pages open, and I've come up with one question.

Why doesn't everyone that wants clear finish just sand all the way through and apply a new veneer? It's not like their expensive.The tutorial on PG made it look simply(Course there is the curved top issue but meh)

If I get that kit I'll prob attack the damn thing with 600 grit paper on my Random Orbital! If I screw up? No big deal.

Highly considering buying a HT-10 from Brian in a few months time(Have to convince the wife of this little "project")

Currently I'm refinishing a Ibanez EX160 with comical results, my first attempt at anything like this.

And yes, Carvin kits are better, Grizzly kits are better, Warmoth body + neck is better. They're also not $100-160 for a playable instrument.

Another option is this PRS body + Neck. Around $200. But I havent heard much about them anywhere. Mahogany body(Solid?) With a nice top.

http://byoguitar.com/Guitars/PRS-Body-and-...-PRSBUNDLE.aspx

well, you know everyone is going to say how much sagas suck. and im with them. but besides that. with a thinner veneer, which most are, around 1/42" thick. at that size, you cannot do a non flat surface without a vaccume press. you just wont be able to do a carved top. eve a flat top is way tricky. it is really easy to over apply glue, and ESPECIALLY get bubbles and wrinkles. that is the main reason.

well, you know everyone is going to say how much sagas suck. and im with them. but besides that. with a thinner veneer, which most are, around 1/42" thick. at that size, you cannot do a non flat surface without a vaccume press. you just wont be able to do a carved top. eve a flat top is way tricky. it is really easy to over apply glue, and ESPECIALLY get bubbles and wrinkles. that is the main reason.