Grain Direction For A Neck

All,

I bought some maple to make a few necks with, It's a large square chunk (5 x 5 x 40 ) that is basically quarter sawn. I can make the necks with the grain running horizontal or vertical.

Anyone have a thought which is preferable?

Looks wise, if I use the grain vertical, which would make it quarter sawn, the back of the neck would have straight lines going from the heel to the top of the headstock, and if I make it horizontal, the sides should have stright lines and the back should have some wave to the figure. .. I think I got that right.

What about strength and warping tendency, I'm looking at maybe 6+ necks out of this chunk and can go either way.

-John

In martial arts, when you break boards, you always break on the grain. When you're holding a board for someone, if you hold it from the ends of the grain, chances are the martial artist will not be able to break it, and will probably hurt themselves trying. I'm not a neck expert, but I know how to break wood. The reason you make necks with the grain running vertically is because they're much stronger that way. Just a thought.

EDIT: Maybe I'm not sure what you're asking. If you're asking whether to do it as if it's quartersawn or flatsawn, that's a different matter.

-Dave

Edited by dpm99

Dave,

In martial arts, when you break boards, you always break on the grain. When you're holding a board for someone, if you hold it from the ends of the grain, chances are the martial artist will not be able to break it, and will probably hurt themselves trying. I'm not a neck expert, but I know how to break wood. The reason you make necks with the grain running vertically is because they're much stronger that way. Just a thought.

You break that way because boards have about 1/5th the strength across the grain vs with the grain.