7 String Rhoads V Project

one of my first customers, but he delayed me with sending the trace of his Rhoads, and sending parts he needed etc, so i'm just getting started on this

DSCF5180.JPG

http://www.elysian-online.com/CrooksV/DSCF5181.JPG

http://www.elysian-online.com/CrooksV/DSCF5184.JPG

heres as it sits right now, i need to route the pickup and drill all the holes for wiring, he's sending me a Bareknuckle pickup for it, 1 pickup guitar. it uses my circular volume pot "cavity" instead of a larger cavity(i don't like taking out more wood than necissary. he wanted a tummy carve, and i decided to make the neck heel a bit less blocky for him. i need to reroute the shelf for the input jack cover, as during final shaping with 80 grit, it got too thin in the middle. the neck on this is a Custom shop Jackson neck, someone refretted it in the past, and did a terrible job, they didn't radius the fretwire at all, so every fret stuck up on the ends about 1/32nd inch, so i had to refret it. its getting a non-recessed OFR7 as well, and it will be finished in gloss black.

Lookin' good. I've always wanted to do a Vee. Seems like a simple but satisfying build. Why the Jackson neck? Didn't feel like making one or was the customer adamant about a "genuine" Jackson? Regarding the heel, have you checked out how Ran does theirs? Really nice contouring (I don't think they do bolt on, though). What are you doing for a finish?

edit: Never mind, I see you're going for gloss black. Good choice, that should suit it perfectly.

Edited by fookgub

Lookin' good. I've always wanted to do a Vee. Seems like a simple but satisfying build. Why the Jackson neck? Didn't feel like making one or was the customer adamant about a "genuine" Jackson? Regarding the heel, have you checked out how Ran does theirs? Really nice contouring (I don't think they do bolt on, though). What are you doing for a finish?