Rebuild And Learn

Am about i attempt tp rebuild a dodge old LP copy I have and I have a couple of question about how to go about it.

Before anyone asks the "Why would you bother?" question I thought I'd get in first and say: It's a learning experience. I've had some experience with electronics but not a great deal with woodworking so I figured this would be a great place to learn some things that help me to build a "real" guitar or 10.

So...

Dodgy LP currently has a bolt on neck, no fretboard binding and a flat top body.

It also has some wicked drill holes and roughas guts router cavities in it (me and my brother have been hacking into it putting coil taps, phase switches, onboard effects and god knows what else into it since I was 13 (I'm 36 now!))

So it pretty much is the shape of an LP and that's about it.

It's is all Mahogany on the plus side (all be it made from about 6 laminates).

The plan is this:

Try to make it into a decent LP replica

Sand it all back (done...yep I can do that much on my own)

Fill in the holes and gouges on the body

Thickness the top of the body and put a bookmatched Maple top on it

Convert the bolt on neck to a glue in:

Add and subtract some wood on the body to create the heal and appropriate neck pocket

Add and subtract some wood on the neck to create heal and appropriate neck tenon

Defret the fingerboard

Add binding to the fingerboard

Refret the fingerboard

Carve the top

Bind the body

Finish it in a dark Honeyburst (Gibson have a new colour out at the moment they call Desertburst which is just what I wanna try to achieve)

Wack on the hardware and electronics (got some sweet pickups for it, Dimazio DP100 bridge and DiMazio ToneZone for the Neck)

and then :D:DB)

Now questions....