Some Basic Questions

I am a woodworker, established cabinetmaker, etc. Not done any musical instruments. My son is a guitarist. I see that he has an old 'crappy'(according to him) bass he has left in my home. The body is shot. My idea is to take it apart, scrap the body and build him a new one using the existing neck. He can figure out what electronics he wants. It's a basic 'Fender' shape (not a Fender). It's fairly easy for me to make a template and duplicate the body.

Questions:

*When I veneer furniture, I ALWAYS apply veneer on front and back of a substrate. I see that you all apply 1/4" tops to solid bodies...no backs. No problems with this 'one sided affair'?

*I have 5/6 and 6/6" lumber in the shop... maple, mahogany, birch. I also have 1/4" stuff lying around (figured woods, etc). Is there a difference in the wood I use for the body blank? Since it is a solid body, does the tone get effected? Does it matter how thick I make the laminate top?

*Is there a way to 'sculpt' the blank and 'bend' the top layer to match the sculpt? Or is 'carving' the way it's done? I do use a vacuum press here, but with thin veneers. I can get a curve, but not compound curves (obviously).

* And finally...with the 'semi hollow' designs...the hollowed back with the layered top (with F hole)...is any bracing needed in the top? Or does the remaining amount of core act as the brace. I like the look and seems that the weight can get reduced greatly.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I would also appreciate any recommended books/ websites, etc. that would answer these types of questions.

A.

*I have never had problems wit adding tops and have never hear of any.