Pin Stripe Veneer

Well for example if you were gluing neck lams together a 5 peice that was say maple/black veneer/maple/black veneer/maple

e.g this

http://www.ormsbyguitars.com/galleries/sha...es/IMG_2614.jpg

Then you could glue a veneer to one side of each of the out side lams, facing in, and a veneer on both sides of the middle lam, and then glue it up like a 3 peice, only each peice will have a veneer on it, and the veneer will double up.

I'm just worried about keeping it black and without glue lines...

I know how to lam a body, but I'm no expert on it.

I believe that a lam neck is easier to achieve a minimum clamping pressure. I think a body is much mor difficult to achieve the same pressures without a veneer press or vac bag system.

Having said that, I think that it may depend on the material itself as well. You're talking about wood that is dyed black yes? I think that 2 thin wood veneers would have better success than 2 layers of "fish paper" or whatever people call that black paper these days.... has to do with how the glue is soaked into the material and moisture wicked away from the glue-

I *think* generally however, that most of the moisture from wood glue gets absorbed into the thicker layer of wood, since the thin veneer becomes saturated. Now putting 2 veneers next to each other, would require a much longer clamping time to let the moisture absorb from between the veneers- through the veneer and into the next layer of wood - IE the top and back...

If you're talking about real wood veneers and have a veneer press or vac bag, I think you'd be ok if you leave it clamped/bagged for a full day. Normally gluing with titebond in a press or bag is a 1 hour deal, but this would take up to a full 24 hours because the moisture would saturate the veneer itself and need to work into the other wood for the glue to dry...