Just wanted to say hello to all on the forum. I am a former guitarist of fifteen years. I am planning on building my first bass and found this forum during my educational searches.

If anyone was to point me in the direction of the best place to find good/cheap wood online I would be very grateful.

I first designed the body shape of the bass I am working on about 10 years ago. I've always been an artist, so when I was active in the music community it was natural for me to extend my artistic talent in that direction. As it stands I never really thought that I would ever build it. I have recently picked my guitars back up (thanks in large part to Guitar Hero lol, I know...) and realized that more than guitar, I really missed playing bass.

Looking online for decently priced basses left me fairly irritated. I was fairly shocked to find that fretless basses (which require a bit LESS work than their fretted counterparts) were always more expensive. Add to that a through-neck design and the cheapest bass I could find was at least $2000.

I have some experience working with wood (my father has done one form of woodworking or another my entire life), a degree in graphic design, and a love of music. It just made sense all of the sudden to try my hand a building instruments.

So far the only thing I am apprehensive about is the neck construction. All of the resources I've read have been fairly vague about how they actually worked, and the installation instructions are always focused on guitars.

Anyway, that's all I can think to tell. (And I really would love input on online wood dealers... right now I'm looking at www.rockler.com, but they are pretty limited in the sizes that you can buy.)

Thanks for what seems to be my new favorite forum!!!

-Dean Reeves