how to sand plane on bent areas

12b345b67

hello!

im a new member but im not that new to this forum. ive been learning alot but now im doing this guitar rebuilding project and i need a little help so i thought id register.

the guitar im rebuilding is a strat copy and im aming for something more like an ibanez rg style (everyones favorite right? B) ).

here is the thing:

ive stripped the body and sawn it to a shape somewhat like an ibanez rg. now im sanding up the finnish for the paint/lacquer(sp?) and now i reached the sides of the body. i find it very hard to make it a right angle and also totally plane. what technique/tools do you use?? i hope you understand what im trying to put across. :D

and yes, this is my first attempt ever to build/rebuilt a guitar!

any help would be appreciated!

Welcome to the board!

If I understand correctly, you want to make the sides a perfect 90 degree angle (perpendicular) to the top. You could make a couple sanding blocks, one w/ a concave surface and the other w/ a convex surface. Just make sure the radius of the concave one is larger than the largest curve on the guitar. Glue sandpaper to the surfaces of the sanding blocks. I usually start with 80 grit then work to 320. It depends on what stage the wood is at, 80 is for fairly rough wood, you can always begin with a finer grit. Make sure the sides (adjacent to the sanding surface) of your sanding blocks are perpendicular to the surface holding the paper. Lay the guitar down on a flat surface and use the convex block for the inside curves and the concave block for the outside curves.

ok, thanks alot everyone!

yes youre both right, 90° angle.

Southpa: a very good method. but what glue should i use? because i would want to easily switch the sandpaper.