Biyang Pedal

jaycee

Is his guitar plugged straight in to the pedal? Also, are there any high gain amps or other things in the area? Possible causes are oscillation (though in a tube screamer circuit that seems unlikely unless something is really screwe up), wrong power supply voltage, EMI from radio stations, etc., to name a few. What you describe sounds like oscillation, but there is not anywhere near the kind of gain in that circuit where you tend to see oscillation, though it is possible. If it's oscillation, he would have to open the pedal and replace the unshielded cable with shielded and pray that that works.

It's a nice looking pedal, though.

He gave the pedal to me to try before he used it. When we tried it on his gear it was fine, even my guitar was fine with it.

So it's not really a problem but I would like to find out what caused the noise. I will go through a process of elimination to find out.

I'm no expert in pedals but this one does sound very nice.

Found the problem, it's the power supply unit, for some reason it causes interference with the pedal

Was it a "switching" type power supply? Those use an IC chip which can inject a whining noise into your audio system via the power supply.

It's one where you can select the voltages from 1 to 12

Found the problem, it's the power supply unit, for some reason it causes interference with the pedal

Was it a "switching" type power supply? Those use an IC chip which can inject a whining noise into your audio system via the power supply.

It's one where you can select the voltages from 1 to 12