Spray Gun Spitting

Ripthorn

So I am trying to spray deep blue metallic duplicolor paint shop lacquer on my current build, and I can't figure out how to keep it from giving me one or two little spits, which then mean I have to wet sand the whole thing due to it being metallic and a finicky beast. I am using HF HVLP guns, the 20 oz and the 4 oz. I sprayed the 4 oz at about 30 psi and the 20 oz at about 40 psi, but both give me the same issue. I have tried material feed rate changes, I've tried thinning the finish, but to no avail. I have also tried spraying a mist coat of acetone after the color coat, also a no go.

I am by no means a finishing expert, so if anyone has any advice I would love to hear it. Thanks.

First thing that stands out to me is you said "Metallic".

What size tip are you using? What size metallic flake are you using?

Can you see where I'm going with that?

It could be a damaged tip/damaged needle, could be technique, could be the paint mixture, could be the tip isnt big enough for the metallic

When is it spitting?

Is it at the start of your run?

Also, when you say you're spraying at 30psi, is that at the compressor or at the gun? If its the compressor, then at the gun is probably more like 15psi and even though you think its spraying it, it's more like falling out. Must always have a variable guage at the gun

Heres a short video I did a couple years ago for some other members and covers a few things that may help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eWQmZwQL2ik