GFS wire colors

Dougfir

Hi all,

I'm new to guitar wiring and have been having a tough time trying to translate wire colors for a project I'm working on with two humbuckers.  I am planning on using a wiring diagram (a rather complicated one with splittable coils, series/parallel switches) that was created for Seymour Duncan wire colors.  However, I'm using a pair of GFS Quick Plug pickups(Fat Pats).  Seymour Duncan labels their wires as North Start(black), North Finish(white), South Start(green), South Finish(red), but GFS labels their four wires as:  Hot/Positive (red), Ground (black), Shield Ground (bare) and Coil Tap (white).  I cannot get anyone at GFS/Guitar Fetish to translate their wires to North Start, North Finish, South Start, South Finish for me.  Can anyone here help?  I did look at a suggested website that had every manufacturer labled this way, but their GFA example was not a Quick Plug and had 5 wires. 

Thank you!!

Seymour Duncan (SD) -> GFS:

1. SD North Start (Black) = GFS Hot (Red)
  2. SD North Finish (White) + SD South Start (Green) = GFS Coil Tap (White)
  3. SD South Finish (Red) = GFS Ground (Black)

The GFS pickup you have sounds like three-conductor wiring, instead of the four-conductor that the SD uses. With three conductor wiring the junction between the two coils of the humbucker (North Finish/South Start) is hardwired together inside the pickup and brought out as a single wire. This is done for some cost savings on GFS's part, and to simplify the wiring for the end users who will most likely just want to implement a coil tap (hence GFS's terminology for their White wire). The drawback is that if you have any super fancy wiring that does oddball things with each coil that requires diddling around with each of the four individual terminations on the humbucker, you'll be limited in what you can achieve.