Easiest Finish ever

AndyS

Hey all. Just got my first do it yourself guitar. Held off on getting one for this primary reason: how to finish it? There's a stain that caught my eye I'd like to start there. And then I'm thinking several tongue oil applications. How does that sound for a total newbie? I have very limited tools. But I don't mind waiting for stuff to dry. Thank you for any fun info you might share. Have a lovely day.

Hello and welcome to the addiction!

There's no easy ways or shortcuts in finishing... But your choice is valid and can be done with limited tools and facilities.

It all starts with sanding. And continues with sanding and continues with sanding and continues with sanding and... Truly, sanding is the most crucial part of any finish! So:

• the first thing to do is to check for any glue squeeze-outs as stain won't stick to them! Scrape and sand, test with a drop of water to see if the drop stays on the surface: That'll mean glue.
  • Sand through the grits starting from 100 up to 400. Wipe with a damp cloth between every change of grit to raise the grain and let dry. Do the 400 a few times moistening in between. The moist surface will also reveal any scratches from coarser grits or other mishaps
  • Some people prefer blocks, some bare fingers when sanding. Both work, although when level sanding a large flat surface a wide flat block can help
  • No matter the preferred sanding method, use a light hand!!! And de-dust your paper often! If the dust clogs on your paper clean or change it immediately. That also tells that you've been pushing too hard so that the friction will heat and caramelize the sugar in the dust and you'll end up having a big hard lump containing loosened abrasives!