First Time Builder Help

Hey i'm new to guitar building and i am going to build one with my friend. I was thinking, before starting out should i use lumber and glue it together. I dont want to spend $60 on a blank and ruin it. Also, where can i get plans for a fender stratocaster, and is there any free ones on the internet?

It seems that you are a just getting into building guitars. Therefore I recommend you to buy "Make your own electric guitar" by Melvin Hiscock or "Building Electric Guitars" by Martin Koch. Both books are great and tell you how to build guitars in detail. There are so many problems you'll face during building your first guitar that you won't find all the answers in a Forum at least not without asking 100+ questions....Both books are really worth there money and are must-have items for starting builders.

HTH,

MK!

Hi Ziki,

Welcome to the insanity. Personally, I don't suffer from it: I enjoy it.

And I second what MK said. Either or both of those books would be of great value to, as would reading through the various threads on this web site. Also, check out the tutorials on the main www.projectgutiar.com site. There is a TON of information there.

Have fun, and take lots of pix.

Guitar Ed

Didn't see a question about plywood, but if the question is "can I use it", the answer is "you don't want to."

Gluing together 2 pieces of lumber side by side is standard practice for making bodies and tops, but you still want to be using decent wood, and you will need to have them properly jointed together.