Project Lucy-- my first

Hi all,

You've seen me around, sometimes talking like I know more than I really do, which is dangerous when you're accumulating a bunch of knowledge from books and places such as this, but not actually USING it! The whole way I found this forum was because of a genuine desire to build a guitar, though, and now that my wood has arrived, I'm going to start chronicling its progress.

This thread could end up taking a year or more... I have to order parts and tools as I go, so often there will be weeks between updates, but rest assured-- I'll either be working on it, or if I throw in the towel, I'll let you all know. B) A word of warning-- I am a bit of a writer... so for those with attention deficits, you might want to skim some parts and get right to the pictures. ;-)

Step 1: Research

---------------------

From reading Guitar Player for years and years, I have a pretty good idea of which woods are valued for which tones. What I DIDN'T know was how much of my stuff I would have to order 'pre-made' (ie. Warmoth necks) and how much of it I could feasibly make on my own. I stumbled across Martin Koch's website fairly early on, and after reading the exerpts, I realized I could at least attempt to make most of the guitar from scratch.

Martin Koch's Build Your Guitar website

In the meantime, I went to Chapters a lot and read all their books, none of which REALLY grabbed me and seemed worth the price. They didn't have the Hiscock book on hand, or I probably would have snapped it up.

Many of the other websites I Googled are actually linked to from our very own ProjectGuitar.com, so I won't list them, but strangely enough it took me a while to realize this forum was here. I had the manufacturer's list, but I hadn't taken advantage of the link to the main page!! D'oh!