Tips for playing live

jono_470

last night, my band played 3 covers as part of a school rock band show. Didnt turn out too well. First two songs (which were significantly easier) turned out OK, but the 3rd song (the trooper by iron maiden) wasnt as good as it could have been. During the solo, we kind of fell apart (with my friend playing rhythm, and me playing lead), although we managed to get it back together again towards the end. Ive narrowed it down to the following factors:

1. lack of practise. we were given one week notice for this show, and only managed to find time for 1 practise session. we had never actually played the trooper before, and i hadnt had enough time to properly learn the solo, so it was just improvised bits for most of it. Im not that good at improvising; ive only been playing for 2 years so ive got a long way to go. The rhythm player, no offense, just kinda sucks, although hes a good friend of mine, hes not very musical.

2. Lack of stage monitors. We simply couldnt hear ourselves properly. we didnt do a soundcheck, since the idiots who played before us used the mesa dual caliber for clean and ran a pedal into it, so i had to muck about with the settings afterwards. Had to turn up the master 3 times during the performance. Still, i couldnt hear the rest of my band properly, let alone hear myself properly. (on a sidenote, the mesa gave up the ghost right after our performacne, so i was lucky!!)

3. Lack of live experience. wed only played live 2 times before this, and this was hte first time with our new drummer, so were still in the stage of learning.

4. Beer. The whole band, with the exception of the drummer had an average of one can each, and i had a little bit of baileys beforehand too. Not a good idea, even though we stopped drinking an hour before the show. (btw, were sort of underaged too :D ) well, what do you expect when your friend's parents are out leaving a good storage of beer in the fridge??