PRS kit neck glue

:D Ok so I"m gettin one of the PRS style kits from Bryan here within the month and I wanted to ask a few questions. First is the finish. I want to do a paint job that is a tinted laquer or clear coat of some sort. The very thin veneer wont allow me to sand so I'm trying to find a way to get the same dyed wood effect with just spray paint, anybody that can give me the type of paint and where to buy it would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to this so I have no clue at all where to look. Another hting, It's a bolt on neck I see but can the neck joint be glues perhaps? Maybe Brian can answer that question. Would it be worth it and whats the chances of it going wrong? Thanks a bunch guys. B):D:D

there is a coat of sanding sealer on the guitars already, you can sand it off so you have bare wood and dye like a normal piece of wood then go through the normal finishing process, just take your time and be careful sanding so you dont sand through the veneer

MzI

^^^ there may have been a thread like that questions about the kits come up every so often take a look through the archives and youll prolly find your answer

also sc, check the tutorial page there is all sorts of tutorials about finishing to help you out and :DB):D books

Guest Litchfield Custom Gutars

The CE models (and Roman Quicksilvers) are all the same. The CE or bolt in necks are the same, just not glued. You can plug the bolt holes and glue it in, but be absolutely sure to remove ALL the sealer so the glue can pennetrate. Also, clamp it very vell.

I pulled this comment of mine from another post...