Thanks Everyone!

Just wanted to say thank you to Brian (bought a few pieces and parts from Universal Jems) and the rest of you here who post such helpful information. Although I'm a woodworker I hadn't thought to make a guitar until I came across this forum. It's very different from building cabinets! But I've just finished my second one and felt that I should give some feedback to you all as a form of thanks.

This guitar has a book matched top of quarter sawn sycamore from a tree that I cut down years ago. Hadn't ever seen a guitar made from this wood, so I thought it would be a little bit unique. The body is a chambered basswood painted black. The neck is maple with a birdseye maple cap. Nitro lacquer finish and rubbed out. It's small and light (about 6.5 pounds). The hardware and pups are nothing special (Korean made), but I set it up with 9-42 strings with 1/16th string to fret distance at the 17th fret (I use drill bits to measure this ... works great), and it plays without any string buzz at all. You don't need to blow all your money on the hardware for your learning projects. Save that for later and you'll appreciate it more, I think. Oh ... I did use black strings (DR) to have them stand out against the wood a bit. Kinda cool looking.