Spray Gun Vs Rattle Cans For Clear Coating

kench

Hello. I have been working on my guitar which I finished with shellac and clear nitro-lacquer few months ago. I used shellac to give warmth to the maple and then sprayed clear nitro to give gloss (wasn't brave enough for french polish). But because of the alchohol i used for dissolving shellac, the color looked a bit greenish amber.. It annoyed me, so last week I sprayed reddish brown on sides to make it a sunburst.. Well it looks great!

Anyway.. I have to put clear coats again.. I used only aerosol cans by far. But I can't find a decent clear nitro aerosols anymore. I had used CLOU before which were great. The ones I just tried spray very very bad. Needs a lot of level sanding. And sometimes they spray semi-solid pieces of lacquer!!

But I was wondering.. if I buy a *cheap* spray gun (around $25) would it be better then spraying clear coats with aerosols? Because I've never tried them before and the weather is too hot and extremely humid these days. Btw.. I have an access to a 120lt compressor. But no moisture traps or anything.

Or should I go for acrylic based Duplicolor cans? They say I can use it on nitro coats.. but can't use nitro on acrylic.

Stick with the cans. If you can find a decent gun for $25 good for you. For anything worthwhile you can expect to pay $200-$300 CDN. Plus you will absolutely need a professional moisture trap with that kind of humidity (the inline ones only soak up so much water)

Yeah if you can find a cheap gun go for it! IMO, rattlecan clear just plain SUCKS when you start to use a gun set-up.

Yes, you need a moisture trap. One of them will run you about 10-20 USD.

Go for it! :D

EDIT:Another name for moisture trap is a "poly bowl filter". It gets rid of water, dirt, and grease in your lines.

Edited by AlGeeEater

do you have access to deft nitro?it is pretty decent stuff.