Hows This Wood Combo?

mailman

Goncalo Alves is such a pretty wood, in my opinion, that it wouldn't need a top. Of course, the contrast between woods is always nice. I'm seeing a spalt top looking better than a lacewood, but again, that's all just my asthetic opinon.

I have no experience tonewise with the woods mentioned, but the little bit I'd worked with Goncalo Alves is seemed to be kind of like rosewood in how it worked - dense and kind of "waxy" almost; I imagine it might have a similar sound? I don't know, for certain.

i wish i knew what wax sounded like...

I could be wrong but I think he meant has a similar sound to rosewood's in general, he said it felt waxy and dense when he worked with it and similar to rosewood's, he didn't say it sounded waxy.

Warmoth necks

It sounds good to me. I've never played on a rosewood neck personally besides just the fretboards, which most I have or have played on have rosewood fretboards of some sort. As for body I would imagine it similar to the neck tone, it could be a little heavy for a body, might make a great top though, or a heavily chambered guitar. Just a guess though.

so its really heavy?

hmm, so IF i have to use the Alves a a neck only that leaves an option for the body....

suggestions?

Limba, zebrawood, zitcote, myrtle for the body instead?

Limba-$ Great to work with, med to light weight, warm clean tone.

Zebra-$$ Hard material, cuts nicely but can be a bit brittle, Heavy, Tone (never used it for a full body only tops).

Zircote$$$$- Heavy and really hard (much like Ebony), can be brittle and tricky to work with, Tone is very similar to ebony.

Myrtle-$, Great to work with, fairly light, warm tone.

Don't get too caught up with your choice of wood. Sounds like you are looking at a lot of vary different woods. Good luck with your search!!!

Peace,Rich