Installing A Varitone Switch On A Dot Studio.

cluster

Hello All,

I just bought a EPI Dot Studio (es-335 type). It only has 1 volume/1 tone control and I was thinking about installing a Varitone switch to give it more tone. I'm new at this and I am wondering how difficult this would be. Can anyone tell me the size of hole, type of drill bit and how to install the varitone switch into this guitar? Any help would be appreciated.

Joseph

Short version: this guitar does not have a control cavity in the back, so you'll need to pull all the electronics out the F-hole, wire in the varitone, then feed it all back into the guitar.

Long version: First....get the varitone and make sure it will fit through the F-hole so you can get it into the body. If not, then you might be toast.

If it fits, then you'll have to drill a hole big enough for the threaded shaft collar. But when you do, you need to be very careful to put the hole in a place that will leave enough room for the varitone so that it does not bang into the "sustain block" that runs down the center of the guitar body, or the other two pots. Put the hole in a place that leaves enough room around the varitone and its caps & tabs so it doesn't hit anything else.

Next, you'll need to de-mount the volume & tone pots and switch and pull them out...tie a piece of string to each of the shafts before you do, it'll make it easier to fish them out later. You may also need to de-mount the output jack in the same way if the leads aren't long enough to get the pots out the F-hole; plug a cable in first though (see why below) before you do. Pull the vol & tone pots out the F-hole, being careful to avoid breaking the solder joints.