Danish Oil To Grain Fill?

el pucho

I’m looking for a cheap and easy way to achieve a natural finish on a swamp ash telecaster body. I’ve decided to use Danish oil as the final finish on the guitar, as it seems relatively easy to apply, and is pretty cheap, so the only real help I need is with the grain filling (I think…hehe).

As far as I can see the options for grain filling are using epoxy resin, grain filler or wet sanding Danish oil into the wood. What’s confusing me is which one of these options would be “best” for what I’m intending to do. To be honest I liked the sound of wet sanding the oil into the wood, but I have no idea if this is more, or less difficult than the other methods.

As you may have guessed I’m new to all this.

Thanks everyone.

I'm not sure Danish Oil would even work over an epoxy fill; sanding oil slurry should work to fill the grain, although it may take a very, very, very long time with something like Swamp Ash.

Honestly, if you want a raw, natural feel...don't fill it. Oil it and play it. I've never pore filled a guitar I've finished in oil.

Thanks for the help Mattia, I did wonder wether using oil as a finish would work with grain filler or epoxy, that's why I thought the oil slurry would be the best option.

Most of the advice I've read has mentioned filling the grain on Swamp Ash, I hadn't even considered not filling the grain. I haven't seen how it would look not filled, but just oiled, if anyone has any pics I'd like to see the end result.

Cheers

I haven't seen how it would look not filled, but just oiled, if anyone has any pics I'd like to see the end result.

I have one in raw, oiled swamp ash. It looks very nice and the good part is that the more you hold it/play it, the better it'll feel and look.

Will try to fire up the camera.

Good luck

Hey guys,

I've also been building natural looking, oil finished guitars without pore filling. My question is this: