Setting Up Axe

spacepl

Hi,

I would like to get some basic information on how to properly set up an electric (a cheap strat copy to be exact). Could you help me out? I have seen a couple of sites but am not sure which strategy to follow. I do wish that there would be at least a sticky for noobies, such as me.

Thanks in advance

Best Regards,

Philip

Thanks, I was looking for a tutorial that I could trust. One more question. I am a total noob, so please don't laugh. :D Someone told me that I can't take all the strings off at once without adjusting tension on the truss rod. Is that true ?

Edited by spacepl

Thanks, I was looking for a tutorial that I could trust. One more question. I am a total noob, so please don't laugh. :D Someone told me that I can't take all the strings off at once without adjusting tension on the truss rod. Is that true ?

You CAN take off all the strings at once without causing neck issues, BUT YOU SHOULDN'T because it COULD have negative affects and if it's a strat style with a tremolo, you'll likely drive yourself nuts (as a self proclaimed noob) trying to get it back in tune.

All strings very in string tension, even the same gauge from vendor to vendor. It is best to setup the guitar for a particular gauge string from a particular vendor, even then variances can occur.

You should be fine if you're only taking off the strings to restring it, never leave a guitar standing without strings though. Even on my floyd equipped guitars I tend to take off all the strings to restring (plenty of experience of getting it back into tune) as i like to give the fretboard a good clean which is much easier with the strings off.