If You Could Only Have One Plane...

rlrhett

I've reached the limit of what I can do with a cheap block plane from the local ACE hardware store. However, I am not a professional woodworker. It is hard for me to justify a $150 LN block plane AND a $300 bench plane AND a $75 spoke shave, etc. I might be able to spend $150 TOTAL, if there was no reasonable alterantive for less.

I want a plane to join pieces of 6/4 ash and 1/4 maple. I also need to smooth plane the surfaces of the ash and maple and thickness plane spruce and rosewood. Finally, I would use the plane to smooth a neck for the fretboard join and to even and smooth a skarf join.

OK, so this is probably impossible, but...

If you were to invest in just one decent plane, what would people recommend? ECE smothing plane? Vertias low angle smoothing plane? LN adjustable angle block plane? Some Bailey/Stanley plane from e-Bay? A 4 1/2, a 5, a block plane? What?

I have seen discussions on the merits of a LN vs Veritas vs ECE vs Stanley, but all of them seem to come from the point of having already decided to by a specific size/type of plane, etc.

I understand that there is no deffinite answer. All I am asking is for those who have extensive experience, what would be your recommendation given my budget and use limitations?

Thanks,

A jack plane (no.5) would be the one to go for - it's name comes from 'jack of all trades' as it can do a bit of everything. A good *old* stanley or Sargent will do the trick - light enough for most work, and long enough for most of the jointing required in guitars. You can find these planes cheap in charity shops, or on eBay.

If you prefer to buy new, the veritas line looks very nice for the money, I'd go with whatever their no.5 type is.