Building Tube Poweramp.

Gemm012

Hi, I wanted to know, first, if building a tube poweramp, like building a guitar, would be cheaper than buying one, second, if it would be really really difficult for someone with no tube electronics experiance to do with some help and guidence, and third, if there is anywhere where I could learn more about it. I'm looking at buying some preamps (Peavey Rockmaster and Digitech 2112) and The only other stuff I have is a solid state head, which I wouldn't really know how to run them through (I don't want to run them through the effects loop, cause then they're not being preamps, just effects sortof, right?) I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I am a bit of a beginner, anyway, thanks for any help.

Galen.

Not a stupid question at all, and fairly easy to answer

1. Not likely - unless you're going for a low-power amp (5-30 watts), you probably can't even buy the internal components for much less than an equivalent tube head, and making a rackmount amp is both expensive and fiddly, especially if you're not used to doing it. You could, however, easily add a preamp input to an existing tube amp, especially if it already has a master volume setup. Don't cannibalize a tweed Twin or a vintage Bluesbreaker, but lots of less desirable, less expensive amps would be prime candidates - two that spring to mind are the Electar Tube 30 and the Pignose G40V.
  2. Yes - you could probably make something that works, but most people don't really "get" the techniques until they've got a couple of builds under their belts - sometimes folks get lucky, but don't count on your first build being a stellar success.