1st Project - 3 Pickups Or 2?

humbuckr

Building my first guitar... specs on the in progress forum.

I am trying to create a tone monster. Honduran Mahagony 1 1/8", 5/8" hard maple carve top with semi-hollow body, warmoth Pro 25 1/2" scale neck (mahagony.ebony).

Plans call for bridge and neck humbuckers but someone suggested adding a third single coil in the middle (e.g. SD SSL1) to give the guitar some more variety. good idea? not necessary?

Since I've never built a guitar before I'm wide open for options on pickup and wiring combinations. I am planning on 1 volume, 1 tone and a pickup selector switch with a push pull for series/parallel split.

thanks

If you're a switcheroo guy and don't like to switch geetars (or only have one), H/S/H can be a wonderful thang.

My current setup:

SD '59 bridge & neck, SSL-2 vintage flat middle

standard 5-way switch

push pull volume (turns on neck p/u to get bridge+neck -or- all three depending on 5-way)

DPDT on-off-on switch wired for dual coil-split (inside/outside coils)

tone (don't use it much)

My up and coming setup:

5-way switch (megaswitch E) (position 3 gives bridge + neck in lieu of the middle p/u)

push pull volume (turns on middle to get all three)

3/4/5 position rotary switch for coil splitting + changing potentiometer value (still working on this)

LR Baggs T-Bridge (piezo)

T-Bridge volume

SPDT switch (magnetics-both-piezo)

no tone control

I love it... in practice it's not as complicated as it sounds, and it still looks clean - no forest of little switches. :D

Mike

if you're after some serious switching options go with a mega switch like mikhailgtrski, something like this: http://www.wdmusic.co.uk/shop/products.php...18&product=4223

If you use that switch you can get loads of tones with just two pickups. I'd do switching like this:

pos 1 : neck Humbucker

pos 2 : neck humbucker coil tapped

pos 3 : neck humbucker coil tapped in parrallel to bridge humbucker coil tapped