Making A Template From An Existing Guitar...

I thought I saw a topic on this a while back but I can't seem to find a phrase to match me to it in the search engine...

What is a good way to make a template from an existing guitar? The outline I could see as being fairly easy but what about the routes in the body? Is there a "no duh" method for easily/accurately doing that?

I have a 61 Jazzmaster I was thinking of cloning for a backup(so I don't gig with the real thing) and I was also thinking of building a tele template using a friend's vintage correct tele body. Is there an easy way to capture the outline of the routes into the template?

Thanks for your help!

It depends on what you consider to be 'easy'.

Just trace the body shape carefully with a sharp pencil and go to it.

With a template, you only have to put the hard time in ONCE, then you're gold, but for that one time you really have to work towards sheer perfection.

The centerline is of extreme importance tho. :D

And no, there is no way to transfer a front or rear body bout onto a template, I trace the outline and carve every one of them by hand, but with a grinder, it goes very quick.

You could try a 'brass rubbing' technique. Lay a sheet of paper over the body, and find a way to secure it in place, so it can't move, but it won't damamge the body.

Then, use the long side of a wax crayon, graphite stick, or piece of artists charcoal to 'colour in' the paper. This will produce dark lines over any edges, like those of routes in the body, and light patches where the hollows are.

Once you've completed the front, flip the body over (without removing the paper) and trace the outline using the magical 'half a pencil'.

The route outlines will be a bit fuzzy, but you can then clean them up with a ruler and french curves, and transfer them to some ply or MDF to make your template.