Glue

i'm new at this so bare with me. What kind of glue should i use for putting the 2 pieces of wood for the body together. also I have seen those books were thet show you how to paint a guitar with car touch up spray paint. I was wondering if this works well, it seems the paint in the cans are the same as the paint on guitars and cars.

The preferred method is HVLP spraying in a spray booth. But since you dont have that you can use spray bombs (spray paint cans) and a fan you dont mind messing up. I work in the furniture refinishing industry and i heard about a guy here running his whole refinishing business out of his garage using nothing but spray bomb finishes. The only problem with paint and lacquer in a spray can is that you cannot thin the material or retard (or accelerate) the lacquer. Also you should buy cheap stuff first and practice spraying onto scrap wood so you can develop your technique. However I thought I saw some disposable spray guns that run off of charges somewhere. If that's the case and you had the money, i'd go to NAPA or someplace similar and pick out a car color and have them mix it for you right there with the reducers and everything in a kit for about $65. I'm sure theres some articles about finishing in the finishing section that could help you more. As for glue, I'd look at Titebond or Titebond II. Glues usualy describe what they're for and what the glue will do (bond harder than wood, resist shrinking, etc.) From my experience with furniture, if you make a good glue joint and clamp it well, it's not coming appart.

Tite bond works great, any of them.

Spray cans work great for a new comer as well. They're great to learn on, not too expensive. Just expect to do lots of sanding to get the paint level. It took me nearly 10 coats of spraying to get a flawless coat on my fretless. Of course, not being a perfectionist may lower the amount of coats you'll do. :D