Hok Kandy Question

Xanthus

I've bought some premixed HOK kandy apple red for the bevels on my Explorer. As I was reading through the website, though, it says that the clear needs to be sprayed over the red before it is dry. I was hoping to give it a bit of a level with some wetdry first, before spraying the clear. My reading gathered that basically the kandy and clear (or, klear) have to be done right after one another, in one sitting.

I've never used HOK before, or heard of this needing to be done to the color coats. Would I still be able to hit it with some wet sand first? I mean, in a perfect world, I wouldn't need to, I know, but just thought I'd ask the experts anyways.

Conventional wisdom says never sand a candy (or other transparent color) coat - the color depth changes with the thickness of the coat, and if you accidently sand through in spots, you'll never be able to match the color (IOW, it'll be blotchy - don't ask how I know that, just take my word for it! :D ), regardless of how carefully you touch it up. Spray several coats of clear, sand level, and then complete the clear-coating process. It's hard enough to keep the color consistent after several coats - adding sandpaper to the mix is flirting with disaster, IMO.

No wet sanding candy colors! Make sure your base is as smooth as you can get it. If you are using metalics, prep the best you can before the metalic goes on, if it is all HOK then one pas should be enough to cover nice and even. Once this is done you shot your candy bevel (I don't know since you don't say what you want, to mask the bevels or just like a burst on them) since all that candy is a clear with the color added to it, you can shot succesive coats of clear over them. This is the same that I do with nitro, but I don't have to shot right after I can wait since nitro burns right into the previous coats.

Thanks a lot guys, you've both saved me a lot of eventual frustration!