Where to start

I plan on doing some veneer work on one guitar, if that comes out ok...do it on my main guitar.

I'm thinking of making my own guitar after all that, maybe over Winter(i live in a place whre it gets like 70s during the day during winter) I'm not very good with woodworking tools. But... I'll learn dang-nammit. I'm thinking of just starting w/ the cheapest woods i can find, like plywood or MDF or something like that just to get the technique and stuff.

I think i'll buy that book that seems to be 'the guitar makers bible' .. The How to make a Guitar book. haha.. :D

Can someone lead me to specs for an Ibanez RG style body and Wizard neck w/ the All Access Neck Joint.

And how about tools? Are there cheap/homemade type of tools that I can use instead of investing in certain things from like stewmac. Just incase the plywood version is too much for me..and i choose not to go on...i don't have a lot invested.

Thanks for any help.

I I'm thinking of just starting w/ the cheapest woods i can find, like plywood or MDF or something like that just to get the technique and stuff.

Do us all a favor and PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEEEEASE do not use mdf or plywood! Spend the extra $10-$15 you would have to spend to get a decent guitar sized piece of alder, you will definately be glad you did. Mdf does not hold screws very well, nor does it produce a good tone.

For the RG specs, were you looking for the actual hardware specs? or more of a blueprint sorta thing? If you were looking for the blueprint, go to the bottom of this page.

For tools, check out the main-site tutorials on tools.

Aaron

well I was just saying MDF, because its local...as far as i know..its cheap.

I don't expectt this guitar to become my main guitar..or to even be used.