Bending Wood Bindings

I am looking to get some wood bindings, either from Stew Mac or LMI, however I can not find solid evidence that says whether or not I can bend the binding around the body of the guitar without cracking it. I do not own a wood bending set up, so that is out of the question. Even those two websites have vague details about non heated bending. Any input?

I have no direct experience with this BUT !!

the other day at the timberyard I was trading stories with a canny old craftsman who makes clocks and he uses a LOT of binding.

while we were talking he showed me on a piece of binding he had in his hand... he held it hanging by its end and pointed out all the natural curves, he said that he always bends the natural curves the opposite way around a radius immediately before a tighter radius - if that makes sense, I.E - in a figure 8 he would use the natural curve in its opposite radius at the bottom of he 8 (the longest circumference) and then the wood will naturally want to curve around the tighter radius at the top - if that makes sense..

anyway, he didnt say that he steamed the wood, he just said that he wet it !

good luck.

I have no direct experience with this BUT !!

the other day at the timberyard I was trading stories with a canny old craftsman who makes clocks and he uses a LOT of binding.

while we were talking he showed me on a piece of binding he had in his hand... he held it hanging by its end and pointed out all the natural curves, he said that he always bends the natural curves the opposite way around a radius immediately before a tighter radius - if that makes sense, I.E - in a figure 8 he would use the natural curve in its opposite radius at the bottom of he 8 (the longest circumference) and then the wood will naturally want to curve around the tighter radius at the top - if that makes sense..

anyway, he didnt say that he steamed the wood, he just said that he wet it !

good luck.