Table Saw For Neck Angle

woody

I am new to guitar building but have done about 6 months worth of research on everything from electronics to Tonewoods.

My son and I are building a les paul style guitar...He's the guitarist...I'm the wood worker. I have calculated my neck angle at about 4.5 degrees and I was getting ready to cut the neck pocket. The Idea occured to me to attach the maple top to a board,screw the board to the Table saw fence. I would set the table saw blade at 4.5 and slowly raise the blade to create the angle. Then I would use that angle to route the neck pocket....Any Ideas on problems I might run into??

You know my kitchen cabnets never had problems with intonation....Wish me luck :-)

Thanks

Edited by woody

Hi Woody and welcome, I dig Les Pauls myself and plan to build one (a goldtop) next year. Though I tried to grasp the method you described to get the neck angle, I honestly couldnt wrap my brain around it. Maybe its cause Ive seen simpler/safer methods posted here. I pulled up a batch of photos I saved that were posted here by a member. Im sorry to say I dont recall his name to give him credit. He posted pics of the build up along with some great jigs. Use the search tool and search 'Les Paul' in the Work in Progress section, you'll find some great stuff. Heres the pics I mentioned. take care, -Vinny

http://s69.photobucket.com/albums/i79/edadmartin/?start=all

I am new to guitar building but have done about 6 months worth of research on everything from electronics to Tonewoods.