Wire Soldering

alysum

Hello,

I've installed a kill switch by cutting the wire from the volume to the jack but I'm having troubles getting anything to work, no output at all. I presume it's bad soldering so I need some tips on how wires should be soldered; my wire has the plastic cover then wire then another wire wrapped with plastic. I know that the 'inside' wires must connect, however do the insulation wires need to be connected or not ?

I unsoldered the wires on the switch and held them together with my fingers and still no output :D I've purchases a multimeter so that it could help me.

cheers,

You installed a kill switch by cutting the wire from the volume to the jack?

I'm no expert, but that doesn't sound right at all. :D You would generally need to rewire the... er... switch! in order for there to be a kill switch. :D This wiring should also normally involve sending the entire signal to ground and not just "into thin air".

What wiring scheme does your guitar use (Les Paul or Strat standard wiring, for example), and which instructions did you follow in order to determine which wire you thought you needed to cut? If it didn't use a standard scheme and instructions, could you post up a diagram of what you did?

Greg

Also some other helpful points of information would be what kind of switch do you have? Is it a SPST or DPST? In other words, does it have 2 lugs coming out of it or 3? You can also try troubleshooting by using the continuity tester on your multimeter. I don't know what kind you have but if you have that capability you can make sure the jack and volume output are connected when the switch is off (not killing).

the thing is even if i tape the cut wire together again it doensnt work...there is continuity according to multimeter but no output, hence my question about how the 2 parts of both wire ends should connect.

maybe i damaged some wires or soldering...but multimeter says its fine...