Beards

What do you do for a respirator if you have a beard? I tried using one, but you can't get the recommended seal around your mouth because of the hair. Are there pro-beard respirators or do the respirator companies hate bearded America? I don't want the lacquer to kill me just because I have a beard and the respirator won't function properly. Thanks.

I used to work with a guy who painted ships at one time. Of course they used full face respirators and the paint they were shooting was deadly to breathe. In order to get a good seal around his mask he would spread vaseline on his face. forehead etc. where the mask made contact. Having a beard you are SOL unless you put enough vaseline to fill the gaps, :D . Can you say gooey mess? When I worked as a "fairer" (a guy who preps boat hulls, deck, bulwarks by filling , sanding, masking etc.), I had to be clean shaven every day to prevent exposure to dust. It was something that was definitely noticed by supervisors, they let it pass but could get into some degree of trouble if WCB (Workman's Compensation Board) showed up for a surprise inspection.

But yeah, if you want to protect your lungs, you gotta shave it off.

Edited by Southpa

I'm glad to see this thread, I have a goatee (about half an inch growth). Would one of the full face respirators offer me proper protection? I'm getting ready to re finish a guitar for the first time and this topic is a bit worrying. I really don't want to shave the goatee off for several reasons but I am also very keen to try my hand at panting a guitar!

Hey dude, I got the same problem. Instead of an expensive full-face respirator or the vaseline trick, just hit an army surplus store and get a full-face gas mask. If you find the right place it shouldn't be more than $30, and they look bad-ass.