Exotic Wood Question From An Absolute Newbie

First off, I'm new to this site and forum, so Hi

Next, some quick background .. guitar player for 30ish years .. woodturner about 10 years ago until the shop I used closed about 8 years ago. When that happened I wound up with some stock that's been gathering dust now for 8 years. I was curious if any of this would be useful for making a guitar (which is something I'd really like to do).

Mostly, I have 3 pieces of Cocobolo measuring 2.5"x2.5"x24" that I planned to turn chess pieces from.

I also have a 1"x4"x14" piece of Cocobolo and a 1"x4"x12" piece of Zircote. I'd assume these would be good only for composites at best.

There's a small piece, 1"x1"x12" of something labelled "Leadwood" that I'm not familiar with. I remember turning some as a test piece, and it's quite dark and heavy. (Obviously too small for anything .. but curious what it is).

Before anyone thinks that I'd use exotic wood for my first guitar build, I would never do that. My plan is to build a guitar first from a purchased (Warmoth probably) body and neck, just to get familiar with the assembly and wiring (something I have zero experience with). After that I'll start thinking about going from scratch and using some of that wood.

Thanks in advance,

Evan

Well, you can probably get 7 or 8 nice fretboards out of each of those 2.5"x2.5" pieces of cocobolo. :D

Heh .. when I read that I ran into the other room and took a tape measure to one of my guitars. I guess somehow I always thought that fretboards were longer than that - longer than 24" even (not sure why I thought that).

The cocobolo turning stock probably has too much sapwood to use the WHOLE thing for necks, but since I was using it for turning I was ok as long as it was on a corner. How thick should a fretboard be cut from a block like that?

Evan