Using Two Bridge Pickups On The Same Guitar?

tkcrabby

Hi guys,

I think I know what sort of answers I'll get but here goes,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, I'm building a Tele which with have two (2) humbuckers ,,,, I have these Seymour Duncan models on hands,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, the first is a Alnico II pro APH-1 BRIDGE (7.85 ohms) and the second is a Seymour Duncan Custom 5 TB-14 (14.4 ohms) which is also a BRIDGE pickup ,,,,,, I was thinking of trying these out with the TB-14 at the bridge and the APH1 at the neck ,,, what do you guys think? I've never used either pickup before,,,,,,,,, should I just use one of them at the bridge and if so which one AND what other model would match up well will either of these?

Thanks for the help,

Terry

It'll work. Lots of pickups are marketed as "bridge or neck" or "any position", and in some cases when you specify the location, the neck is wound a bit less hot so that the natural higher-volume of the neck position will balance it out and make it more 'equal' to the bridge pickup. Sometimes bridge pickups come "F-spaced", meaning the polepieces are a tad wider so that they line up better with the strings. But the importance of this is pretty debatable.

I personally think having perfectly-matched output isn't all that particularly important anyhow (don't most people want to flip into "lead" position and get a boost?). Worst case scenario? You hate the way one (or both) of them sounds, and you then buy a replacement. <shrug>