School Project

Hello,

I am a high school drafting teacher at Greenbrier East High School in Lewisburg, West Virginia. I have been playing bass since 1988. Next year in my advanced drafting class I am going to have my students design a guitar or bass, I am thinking about holding a design contest and build the winning design.

This forum looks to be the most informative that I have found. To the Admins, would it possible for my students to post here? Or should I act as a go between and post any questions that I can't answer.

Thank you for your time.

I think that it's a wonderful idea.

I'm sure that your students could learn a whole lot, but at the same time I would hate to over expose them to non related topics.

The admins may be able to setup a sub-forum for those projects only, maybe that could kind of help keep everything in one place with it.

Best of luck with the project, I would love to see what they come up with.

Perhaps you could partner up with the woodshop teacher there and actually make some of them.

I guess the first question though is, have you ever built a guitar. While coming up with a unique shape may be easy, designing one for playability and and functionality is a little more difficult. Teaching the students how to design one and have them do it on CAD is a great idea, but you have to have enough knowledge to be able to teach it first. Explaining such things as scale length, pickup positions and styles and how pickups work. Those are all things that the kids are going to either want or need to know. Teaching them about neck angle, setup and action are all necessary just to make a design that is playable. And then on top of that the different building techniques and how the designs must accomodate them.

This forum looks to be the most informative that I have found. To the Admins, would it possible for my students to post here? Or should I act as a go between and post any questions that I can't answer.