How Hot?

Trixie Cant Act

Sometimes yes and sometimes no. See dimarzio.com, they have info on their pickups along with the impedance and output voltage levels that will give you a better frame of reference for output vs impedance.

Impedance (Z) is the function of three different things:

-Resistance ®

-Inductance (L)

-Capacitance ©

The formula is:

Z = √(R2 + (ω*L-1/(ωC))2)

ω = 2πf

f is the frequency of the signal

R is easy to boost without added output. Just use a thinner wire and the resistance is upped.

Inductance is more or less the amount of magnetic material inside or in close proximity of the core. Can be upped by adding the traditional steel base plate under the Tele pickup. But I have no real experience about how a changed capacitance will change the output…

I have a LCR meater and if I use it on a Duncan 59 I have here I get the readings

R = 7530 Ohms

C = 0.000000033F

L = 3.92 H

That should mean impedance at 1000Hz of 21.18 Kohms

If we play around with those numbers we see that adding 10% on the resistance Boost the impedance with 0.6%, adding 10% on the inductance add 10.9% on the impedance and lowering (to boost the impedance) the capacitance with 10% rise the impedance with 2,1%. In my experience an added steel base plate (boosted inductance) like on a Tele bridge pickup doesn’t really boost the output that much for the bass and mid, but mostly in the treble range (and yeah the formula says it would do that). The conclusion is that you could probably get really high impedance without a higher perceived output. There is much more to it. In my experience the turn count on the coil and the magnetic flux is much more important. And remember a ceramic magnet will boost the flux but lower the impedance as it means less steel in the pickup. I have published the turn count/flux formula before on this forum. Make a search if you want more information about that.