Guitar Sound Sample Recording

Daniel Sorbera

Recorded with my Pod XT Live USB into audacity.

Amp model, Vox AC-30 TB (on the edge of breakup)

pedal model, Tube screamer (level maxed, drive at half)

Guitar, Mahogany/maple single cut with seymour duncan distortion pickups

The bridge pickup was used for the recording

pic13.jpg

No EQ, all effects (slight reverb and delay) are from the pod.

Excuse my less than amazing playing, it's the best I can do.

Link

This is my first attempt at recording. Aside from playing better/something more interesting what tips do you have?

THICK!!!!! Sounds really great, Daniel. Why can't MY Pod sound that good?

As far as tips go, I don't know if there's much I can offer here. The level was good, loud enough to compete with my music catalog. I might say for demos to add in a backing track just to keep time, but I don't know if that would distract the ear from listening to what it should be listening to. Are you planning on getting together a music sample collection for the website?

OH! Know what I like? Rundowns of the guitar's features. You know, "dirty Vox sound, bridge pickup." Stuff like that. Or the guitar's ability to perform different styles of music with the same amp settings.

Says more about the pod than the guitar, I think. I'm assuming you're working on demos for sales purposes -- in that case, I'd much rather hear the guitar itself, played through an actual amp, than the overprocessed sound from a pod. Just doesn't sound real to me. Hell, any guitar plugged into that setting will likely sound pretty much exactly the same. The recording also emphasizes the sound of the pick on the strings-- which makes me wonder if it's the guitar's fault or the pod's (I'm guessing it's the pod's, but you see what I mean).

I'd much rather hear the guitar itself, played through an actual amp, than the overprocessed sound from a pod.