Beginner Here - Refret A Maple Neck Questions

tra

I'm new to the community and I've been playing guitar about 14 years (I'm 26). I've always wanted to learn how to build/repair/maintain guitars, and now that I have a few "junkers" I'm using them as my learning tools.

My first guitar was a Squier Strat with a maple neck, and it's been out of commission for a few years now. Most of the frets are dented or lifting so I've decided to use this as my opportunity to learn how to fret a guitar. I've been skimming through Dan Erlewine's Guitar Player Repair Guide, and I have the frets removed using his suggestions. Luckily, I didn't pull up big chunks of wood removing the frest like warned in Dan's book, but it's definitely roughed up a bit where the frets lay (little pieces missing). What do you recommend to smooth it out before laying down the new frets? I don't have Dan's "special fret hammer" and wanted to see if there is something I can pick up at Home Depot that will work equally well?

I'm a newb so go easy on me. I'm not a slouch and I don't expect to have such a great skill come easily. I'll use the search function before making stupid "newb" posts to keep the signal to noise ratio low.

Any help or tips are greatly appreciated!

Luckily, I didn't pull up big chunks of wood removing the frest like warned in Dan's book, but it's definitely roughed up a bit where the frets lay (little pieces missing). What do you recommend to smooth it out before laying down the new frets?