Hand Planes And Other Tools

Hey theres been a lot of talk recently about planes, jointers vs planes etc and the general consensus seems to be that you should definately learn how to use and set up your own hand plane in addition to any power tools you have.

So is there any good tutorials around for choosing hand planes and how to set up and use them? Or a really good book on wood working that includes hand tools like planes and spokeshaves?

I'm relatively new to building but I'de like to do things right :D

Cheers

Neil

Hi Neil

Glad to see you've got a new hobby since retiring from pro rugby!

I'm no expert on hand planes but this looked like a good place to start:

FWIW, just by typing 'how to set up a hand plane' into google you'll get more than you'd ever want to know.

What's the latest with the artificial reef over there?

Cheers

Buter

I've got a block plane. I've only used it properly a few times. I've never used it for jointing, but I've used it for bringing a dowel down to the surface that its mounted on. I can't seem to get the hang of using it for jointing. Then again, I don't have a truely flat surface to tune it with :D It is a pretty handly little tool though!

Several things to note about hand planes;

You get what you pay for (I guess that applies to every tool) with hand tools it is something you should not ignore. High end planes like Leevalley.com who makes Veritas and Lie-Nielson are top end planes which should be ready to go out of the box. They also cost an arm and a leg. Other planes like the Clifton may also be good to go but i have no knowledge of them as of late. Stanley is the defacto standard in a lower end plane which will do the job, however it will take some work on your end to get it where it will be that perfect plane.